The Head of School, Administration & Board of Trustees

The Head of School is supported by a dedicated administrative team. Harley's Board of Trustees provides strategic leadership by enlisting its members' talents, expertise, and commitment to the school in areas of governance, finance, enrollment, diversity, and philanthropy. The Board and Administration work together to advance Harley's mission, provide organizational oversight, and set policy. 

  • Bookmark and Share

The Head of School and Senior Administrative Team


Ward Ghory, Ed.D., Head of School

Mr. Ghory joined Harley in 2013 as its thirteenth Head of School and brings a national reputation as a distinguished educator. He served as Head of School at the University School of Milwaukee, in Wisconsin, from 2000-2011. There he led the school through two collaboratively developed strategic plans, remodeling 80 percent of the campus through a successful $44 million campaign for endowment and facilities. Ghory’s impressive experience also includes a dozen years as Director of the Upper School at Buckingham Browne & Nichols School in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Additionally, he spent 13 years in the Cincinnati Public Schools as a high school teacher, founder of a desegregation magnet alternative school, and the assistant principal for curriculum and instruction of a college preparatory high school. Following undergraduate work at Yale University, Mr. Ghory earned an M.A. and Ed.D. in curriculum studies from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. He has published widely on curriculum and teaching, and has presented at many national conferences.


Larry Frye, Head of the Upper School

Mr. Frye earned his Ed.M. from Harvard Graduate School of Education, and his B.A. from Hamilton College. Previously, he has held positions as Dean of Students and Boarding, Director of Communications, Associate Director of Admissions and Director of Financial Aid, English Teacher, College Counselor, and Dorm Parent at The Cambridge School of Weston. He also worked as Senior Assistant Director of Admission at Wheaton College and Assistant Dean of Admission at Hamilton College.

 ImageHassan Jones, Ed.D., Head of the Middle School

Mr. Jones has more than two decades of experience as a classroom teacher and administrator. His particular area of expertise and interest is in literacy and instructional leadership. He holds an Ed.D. from St. John Fisher College, a M.S. in educational administration from Canisius College, and an M.S. in elementary education and a B.S. in history from SUNY Brockport. Dr. Jones is a life-long learner who is passionate about helping kids. He believes that the best schools are the ones where teachers, parents, and students work together to create a learning environment that allows students to reach their highest potential.


Terry Fonda Smith, D.M.A., Head of the Lower School

Dr. Smith has degrees in music from Western Washington University and the University of Cincinnati and a D.M.A. in music education from the Eastman School of Music. Prior to becoming Head of the Lower School, she taught general/instrumental music and Preschool Creative Arts at Harley, in addition to coordinating the early childhood music program at the Eastman School. Dr. Smith has worked in all divisions at Harley and her expertise is in early childhood development.


Lars Kuelling, Academic Dean

Mr. Kuelling received his M.A. in Anthropology from the University of New Mexico and his B.A. in Latin American Studies from the University of Virginia.  He brings a wide-range of teaching and administrative experiences to Harley, having taught history, Spanish, and ethics classes from grades 5-12, coached multiple sports, led study abroad programs, and served as the middle school director at Canterbury School (IN) and the head of school at the Grosse Pointe Academy (MI).  Mr. Kuelling is passionate about the constant improvement of teaching and learning and has led initiatives to provide students with meaningful, hand-on learning opportunities, enhance Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts, and Mathematics (STEAM) programming, and increase teacher effectiveness through a unified professional development and evaluation approach.

 ImageIvone Foisy, Director of Advancement & Admissions

Mrs. Foisy earned her M.S. and B.A. degrees from Suffolk University in Massachusetts. She previously worked in admission at Boston College and Stonehill College. Mrs. Foisy brings over a decade of experience in admission, student advising, marketing, and financial aid to Harley. Born in Portugal, she is also a native Portuguese speaker.



Peter Mancuso, Athletic Director

Mr. Mancuso started at Harley in 1997 and became Athletic Director in 2001.  He earned his B.S.B.A with a major in marketing from John Carroll University and his M.Ed. with a major in sports management from Springfield College.  Previously, he worked in public and media relations for the Rochester Americans Hockey Club, Rochester Knighthawks Lacrosse Club and the Rochester Rhinos Soccer Club.  Mr. Mancuso is also the varsity boys and girls swimming and diving coach for HAC, as well as the varsity baseball coach.  An avid sports fan, he enjoys playing a variety of sports and coaching his kids in the summer.  He is married and has three children.



Ken Motsenbocker, Chief Financial Officer

Mr. Motsenbocker has more than 20 years of experience in financial leadership positions at Eastman Kodak Company. In his last assignment there, he was the Director of Corporate Business Development, located in Geneva Switzerland. Mr. Motsenbocker comes to Harley from Bryant Stratton College where he was the Business Office Director and he has taught Short Term Financial Management at SUNY Brockport. He earned his M.B.A. and B.S. degrees from Cornell University.



Debra Weiss Walker '83, Director of Development

Mrs. Walker ’83 returns to The Harley School as Director of Development. She has more than a decade of development experience. Mrs. Walker completed her undergraduate degree and master’s in public administration at SUNY Brockport. She has served on local boards and committees including Greece Chamber of Commerce, Greece Education Foundation, and Association of Fundraising Professionals.



Board of Trustees

Jack Baron, President, P'18
Michael Paddock, Vice President, P'16, P'17
Gail Fiorini, Secretary, P'18
Stephen Brown, Treasurer, P'20, P'22
Deborah Willsea '73, Strategic Planning Co-Chair, P'06, P'10
Bob August P'07, P'11
  Jim Benjamin P'09, P'15, P'15
Tim Douglas '82
  Scott Frame '73, P'05, P'08
  Jonathan Gross, M.D.
Sam Hampton, Ph.D., '77
Candace Baker Leit, Esq., P'14, P'17, P'20, P'23
Kathy Lindahl P'22
Richard Moon P'14
  Robert (Bob) Moore P'18, P'21
Milena Novy-Marx, Ph.D., P'21, P'22, P'26 
Hon. Marian Payson, J.D., P'14, P'17
Deborah Pearce, Ed.D., P'19
  Paul Sisson '89
Stephanie Townsend, Ph.D., P'23
Matt Winslow P'26, P'29
Mark Zupan P'10, P'14
  Emeritus Trustees
  Robert S. Sands '76, P'06, P'08
  Katherine Kearns Frame '73, P'05, P'08
  Peter H. Willsea '72, P'06, P'10
  An active Parent Council organizes the generous volunteer contributions of time, talent, and treasure from parents throughout the school year and is chaired by:

Nancy Peckham P'18
Kelly Scudder P'19